The issue of spousal support is quite common among the married and unmarried alike. The last year witnessed a record number of divorces. And this trend will only increase in the near future.
Those who are facing problems with finances or working on their divorce will most likely ask for financial support. While there is nothing bad about being in need, there are some guidelines that you should definitely follow in order not to turn to the court and add fuel to the fire.
Filing for divorce in California
After you have decided to divorce, you will need to take care of the documentation. In this case, you or your partner should submit a divorce petition. This is a document that should be served to the official in the county where you or your partner resides.
Furthermore, you should also submit a settlement agreement. This document contains information about the division of property, debts, etc. and should be filed with the court.
When you have considered all of the points mentioned above and settled on how to file for divorce in California, you should submit the documentation to the clerk’s office of the county where either you or your partner reside. This step takes about 45 days from the day you submitted the documents to the court. After that, the petition will be presented to the judge’s office, and the judge will review all of the information and make a decision on whether to grant the divorce or not.
If you are the petitioner, you will be required to deliver the documents to the responding party. You are allowed to deliver the documents in two possible ways: by yourself or with a law enforcement agency. If you do it yourself, you are going to pay a filing fee, which is about $250. Another option is to serve the documents by publishing a service announcement in your local newspaper and sending a copy to your partner. If you do it by mail, you are not required to notify your spouse about the divorce process. However, it is not allowed by the state.
If you are responding to a petition, you are going to deliver the documents to the answering party. As soon as they receive the notice, you must leave the state immediately and never return. The only exception to this rule is adultery. In this case, you must leave the state immediately after the process is finished.
When you want to divorce in California, make sure to check if you meet the demands of the divorce process. By doing so you will make sure that you complete the paperwork correctly and do not make any mistakes. Next, you must visit your local county clerks office to register your petition and other documents. It is then you must deliver your paperwork to your spouse and provide another 30 days for the judge to review your documents. After that, you must register your petition and other documents. After that, you must wait at least 1 month for the decree of divorce.
Remember that you can register your petition online. You are also allowed to file your documents with the court without a lawyer. You must send the documents to the responding party by the appropriate method, including sending them by mail, using the court calendar, or personally. After the decree is signed by the judge, you need to report back to the court. After the initial filing period of 60 days is over, you need to wait for a decree of divorce. In the state of California, the waiting period is usually less than stated in the local county where you are supposed to deliver the documents.
In the end, you need to bring your newly signed divorce decree to the court. In the state of California, it usually takes at least 2 months for the judge to finalize your case.
Cost of divorce in California
The total cost of divorce in California varies greatly depending on the method you choose, whether you hire a lawyer, the county where you are supposed to deliver the documents, etc. However, assuming you can negotiate all aspects with your spouse and reaching a compromise with your partner, the full divorce cost in California may be around $12,800. Remember that the average cost of divorce in California is $11,900, so if you are on a tight budget and spending your entire paycheck on attorneys, you can get your divorce completed in a cheaper way.
Effect of divorce on the consumer
After filing, divorce still remains a permanent mark on the anniversaries of many famous people. The image of the person who died in a tragic accident is still formed in our heads, and it is a painful experience even for those who had to pay a divorce. The subsequent feelings of sadness, anger, and resentment are overpowering even for the most persistent consumer.
The act of divorce, even if it is just for the first time, still has an extremely disappointing after-divorce experience. Perhaps it is not a great pity that some people do not have such a happy experience after the divorce. After all, after such a difficult and wrenching divorce, survivors usually need time to adjust to their new life.