Lawyers and law firms usually claim that an uncontested divorce is not as costly as a contested one. And it should be so! According to most research, the two are much more labor- and money-efficient.
But there is evidence that strongly suggests otherwise. Let’s look at this issue from another perspective. In general, there is more economic incentive for partners to fuse the evening after a divorce. The cost of divorce is usually not significant until you get into the details of the case. For example, if you have to resolve the issue of joint property, this will add an extra cost. There is also evidence that suggests that spouses who choose to get divorced have significantly lower incomes.
So, the true cost of an adversarial divorce is far from clear. It depends on the type of divorce that you choose and the number of issues you deal with. But according to research from the California attorney general, the average cost of an uncontested divorce is around $10,000. Half of that is the filing fee which is around $900. Another option is to negotiate with your ex and use an online divorce service to help you out with costs. But that also brings up a point when the lawyer will earn more and the number of clients will increase. Therefore, the amount of money that you pay your lawyer will also increase.
What is the cost of divorce in California?
A simple answer is that it depends on the type of divorce that you choose. The average cost of divorce in California is around $13,000 in most cases, and it can be more if there are extra issues to negotiate. For example, the duration of the divorce process is also affected by the duration of the marriage. Thus, the cheaper the divorce, the less time you have to negotiate. Also, some people cannot reach a consensus with their spouse and thus opt for a contested divorce. They feel that it is too risky to negotiate without the help of a lawyer.
The average cost of an uncontested divorce in California is $15,000 according to research from our team. If you are eligible for an online divorce, the cost will be $10,000 less according to research. It can be more according to the laws of your state.
The average cost of divorce nationwide is now $16,000 according to research from our team. The average price for an uncontested divorce in California is $13,000 according to research. The cost of divorce in California without legal assistance is $8,000 according to research. The average price for an uncontested divorce in California is $9,000 according to research. The cost of divorce in California without legal assistance is $7,000 according to research. The price of divorce is $7 according to research. The price of divorce is based on 51% more expensive the use of legal assistance, assuming an attorney is involved in the process, and using an attorneys services.
California divorce laws: The basic aspects
The highlights of divorce laws in California are simple but they are not forgotten. Every American state has its own unique legislation that regulates some aspects of family life. The legal requirements for divorce can be complex and definitely apply to the divorce process. Just like in other states, the divorce process can be long and difficult for both sides. And sometimes the benefits of e-filing become clear only when you know for sure what benefits you are going to get from e-filing.
For example, if you are going to get a divorce in California, you will need to know many things before starting the procedure. You will also need to make sure your spouse cannot get any benefits of your legal separation, and that you yourself are not going to benefit from it.
So, the first thing to start with is to decide whether you are ready to file for divorce online. The best option is to file for it as soon as possible, since the time you will need to prepare documents depends on the type of divorce you are going to carry out. You will also need to make sure you qualify to get online divorce help.
The next thing you should check is residency rules. In California, the divorce process can be carried out in the county where either spouse lives. However, there are some other details that should be kept in mind when filing for divorce in California without a lawyer. Check if your spouse is going to be able to provide you with a divorce in California if you have not lived in the state for half a year or so. Also, check if you meet the residency requirements of becoming a resident of the state for half a year. Yet, if you decide to move to another state, you must be a resident of that state for six months before you start the process.
The last thing you should check is the release of your maiden name. If you are a resident of California for a year before the divorce, you are not required to give it again.